top of page

2020 Wasn’t So Bad...

I know, I know: shut up Nikki! But overall 2020 was really good to me. I got to:


•Keep my job AND work from home part of the year.

•Learn some new technology & new/creative ways to teach.

•Have LOTS of bonus time with Thomas.

•Welcome my son Teddy Hugo safely to the world.

•Enjoy him at home with very few visitors and no pressure to go anywhere or do anything.

•Return to my job to find it more calm & relaxed than its ever been.



I say these things knowing full-well that many people did not have a good year, and 2021 may also not start out great. But all I know is that I have had way worse years...way worse. As far as 2020 goes: I have nothing to complain about. I’m ending the year hanging with my boys at home and am perfectly happy doing so.




I’ve learned when we go through something “life changing,” it does just that: it changes you, or it changes life. That doesn’t mean its not hard or that you don’t wish you could go back to the way things were. But you have to accept that you can’t. You have to accept the loss. Whatever that loss (or losses) may be. Sure you are angry, heartbroken, defeated, and maybe even feel hopeless. (If you’re feeling this way, I’m truly sorry and can empathize because I have been there.)


Virtually every aspect of our lives changed this past year. With time, some things will slowly go back, some will evolve, but some will never be the same again. Some of us will bounce back quicker than others because some of us suffered less than others.

All that being said, I hope if 2020 wasn’t your year, that 2021 is considerably better. I hope the light at the end of this pandemic tunnel is close. And although we will never go back to the old “normal,” together, we can build a new, better normal.

Cheers to 2021!









172 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Five

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page